leave for good or not?

My husband asked me will we one day leave our country for good? mmmm……….. ah! that,.. is going to require some deep thought.

https://www.afao.org.au/__data/assets/image/0007/5200/migrate-to-australia.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/meanttobehappy.com/wp-content/uploads/Wisdom-and-Deep-thought.jpg

If I had to leave my country to live elsewhere one of the thing I would miss would be the food. Malaysia has such a large variety of food found nowhere else in the world. They are easily available and do not cost a fortune.

I would miss the bambangan, kinoing (salted fish), jaruk, laksa, wantanmee, meegoreng, roti canai, chapatti, nasi lemak, nasi beriani and chicken rice, plus many others that would take too much space to mention. Eating in Malaysia is glorious. There are so many mouth-watering dishes available. I suppose no place else in the world can compare with that we have here.

Some of my friends who have gone overseas always say that they miss our food. They never fail to say how they wish they were backing home eating some dumplings or popiah. My best friend’s daughter who studies overseas becomes a glutton when she returns for holidays. She says how wonderful it is to be eating our food again. I am sure I will feel how they feel if I were to be overseas.

I would also miss our local fruits. Again where else in the world can we find such sweet succulent rambutan, nangka, bambangan, tarap, bundu, durian and mangosteen? The very thought of these fruits makes me not want to live elsewhere. Why should I go when it is a virtual paradise here?

Our local festivals would be things that I would miss if I had to live elsewhere. Our country is unique in our multi-racial composition. We visit one another on our respective festivals, especially the important ones like Harvest Festival, Chinese New Year, Deepavali, Christmas and Hari Raya Aidilfitri. It can be said all Malaysians celebrate these events. They give us the chance to know one another better and thus contribute to our country’s unity.

Finally I would miss my relatives and friends that I leave behind. After living all my life here, I have known most of my relatives and there is a special kind of bond between us and as for friends, I have a large circle of friends who share the same interests with me. We work and play together. To part is never a pleasant thing, especially when we know one another so well.

There may be other things that I would miss if I were to leave my country, but they would be not as bad as the ones I mentioned. This is a wonderful country. Considering the conditions of other countries, I would say that ours is the best country in the world to live in. This is not said out of patriotic fervor or anything. It is a fact any sane person can see. I cannot see any reason for leaving unless I am forced to. If I had to, the thing I would miss most of all would be my beloved North Borneo Sabah.

Leave a comment